In the Gospel for the Ascension of the Lord, Jesus commissions his disciples to proclaim the gospel everywhere.  “These signs will accompany those who believe: in my name they will drive out demons, they will speak new languages.  They will pick up serpents with their hands, and if they drink any deadly thing, it will not harm them.  They will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover”  Mark 16: 17-18).   Jesus empowers his disciples to preach and heal in his name.  He reassures them of God’s protection from danger.  God will protect them from poisonous snakes and any physical harm.  Jesus empowers all the baptized to act in his name.  He assures us of God’s loving protection.  I have hesitated in loving others.  I have been poisoned by the fear of rejection, pain, and other negative personal consequences.  The power of Jesus encourages me to keep on loving others anyway.  God will protect me from harm.   When have you taken a risk in loving others?  How has God protected you?