In the Gospel for the Twenty-fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time, Jesus tells the Parable of the Laborers in the Vineyard.  “When it was evening the owner of the vineyard said to his foreman, ‘Summon the laborers and give them their pay, beginning with the last and ending with the first.’  When those who had started about five o’clock came, each received the usual daily wage.  So when the first came, they thought that they would receive more, but each of them also got the usual wage” (Matthew 20: 8-10).    I sympathize with the grumblers who worked all day and got the same pay.  I think God owes me for being a good Catholic all my life.  Why should God have mercy on those who are less faithful?  This reversal of fortunes parable illustrates God’s generosity especially to the needy.  God provides me and everyone what we need.  How has God been generous to you in your time of need?  How have you been generous to others in need?

