In the Gospel for the Seventeenth Sunday in Ordinary Time, Jesus tells the parable of the treasure.  “Jesus said to his disciples:  ‘The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure buried in a field, which a person finds and hides again, and out of joy goes and sells all that he has and buys that field’ ” (Matthew 13: 44).   Christian disciples treasure their relationship with God in Jesus.  They gladly give their all for God and the people in their lives.  Before my sons got their driver’s licenses, I often resented driving them everywhere.  My resentment waned when I realized the trips were opportunities to spend time with them.  I enjoyed many moments of grace shuttling them to and fro.   I am glad I shared my time with them.  When did you gladly and generously give of yourself for someone who needed your help?

 

 

