In the Gospel for the Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time, Jesus invites his disciples to follow him.   “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light” (Matthew 11: 28-30).  Jesus uses the oxen yoke as an image for his teaching.  As the yoke guides the oxen along the furrows, the teaching of Jesus guides disciples in love of God and neighbor.  The oxen pull the plow planting season to planting season.  Christian disciples follow Jesus season in and season out.   A disciples is a life long learner.  Each day demands greater love of God and neighbor.  What have you learned about selfless love by following the example of Jesus?

