In the Gospel for the Thirteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time, Jesus describes radical discipleship.  “Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever does not take up his cross and follow after me is not worthy of me.  Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it” (Matthew 10: 37-39).   Jesus seems opposed to families.  Rather he urges his disciples to make God their first priority.  God comes first before family and even before oneself.  Jesus wants disciples to give their lives in love for God and others.  Whenever Christians love another before themselves, they lose their life for the sake of the reign of God.   Parents awakened in the middle of the night to feed a baby.  A man who provides all the care giving for his invalid wife.  A community organizer who risks her life protecting her village’s farmland from developers.  For God’s sake to whom do you need to give of yourself today?

 

 

