In the Gospel for Easter Sunday, Mary of Magdala goes to the tomb of Jesus and finds it empty.  She runs to tell Simon Peter and the other disciples.  They run to the tomb.  The beloved disciple arrives first.  Then Peter arrives.  He enters the tomb to only find the burial cloths.  “Then the other disciple also went in, the one who had arrived at the tomb first, and he saw and believed” (John 20: 8).  The beloved disciple immediately believes in the Resurrection.  My faith in the resurrection has matured throughout my life.  This Easter I know that the self giving love of Jesus is available to me and all who believe in the Risen Lord.  I have witnessed the self giving love of my parents, my spouse, my children, my friends, my neighbors, and strangers.  I have even surprised myself by my acts of unconditional love for others.  What acts of self giving love have you seen or done that strengthen your faith in the Resurrection?

