In the Gospel for Palm Sunday of the Lord’s Passion, Jesus is arrested.  “And behold, one of those who accompanied Jesus put his hand to his sword, drew it, and struck the high priest’s servant, cutting off his ear. Then Jesus said to him, ‘Put your sword back into its sheath, for all who take the sword will perish by the sword’ ”  (Matthew 26: 51-52).  Jesus exemplifies the love of enemy which he taught his disciples.  He refuses to respond to the violence of his arrest with violence.  He knows that love is more powerful than hate.  Jesus witnesses throughout his passion and death to God’s loving mercy for his executors.  I struggle daily to be loving and merciful to my family, friends, and co-workers let alone my enemies.  I am sorry for any swords of jealously, prejudice, indifference, false judgements, and more I have wielded against others.  For what swords of violence to the dignity of others do you need God’s help to put back?

