In the Gospel for the Fifth Sunday of Lent, Jesus raises Lazarus from the dead.  “He cried out in a loud voice, ‘Lazarus, come out!’  The dead man came out, tied hand and foot with burial bands, and his face was wrapped in a cloth.  So Jesus said to them, ‘Untie him and let him go’ ” (John 11: 43-44).  Jesus raises Lazarus from the dead.  Then he orders the bandages untied.  He releases Lazarus  from the grip of death.  Sin is a death too.  It threatens our life with God.  Sin can grab hold of us and not let go.  We all do hurtful things to others that we resolved not to do.  But we do them anyway.  I regret I succumb to the temptation to say hurtful things to my wife when I feel hurt by her.  Christ has the power to free me from this tendency to sin.  Christ unties me from the restraints of hurtful actions.  Christ releases me from the grip of sin to love God and others freely and selflessly.  How has God freed you from sin?  How have you helped free others?

